JFC Brings Panda Express to PH, To Open in SM Megamall

Jollibee Foods Corporation is slated to open the first Philippine branch of Panda Express in SM Megamall. The brand is considered as the biggest family-owned and operated Chinese food chain in the whole of the United States.

In a statement last Monday, September 30, 2019, Jollibee revealed Panda Express will be opening in Pasig City’s SM Megamall. However, representatives from the company declined to disclose the opening date to the public, says Business Inquirer. The partnership with the United States-based company is expected to bring forth at least five stores within Metro Manila.

Panda Express to PH

Under the franchise, the American Chinese fast food restaurant will bring its famous dishes to the Philippines. These include the popular original orange chicken, kung pao chicken, honey walnut shrimp, and honey sesame chicken breast, notes Yahoo! News.

Co-founder and co-chief executive officer of Panda Express Andrew Cherng said they “feel fortunate to be partnering with a company that has a history of growing and adding significant value to its businesses. We look forward to tapping into JFC’s market expertise to grow the Panda Express brand into a household name in the Philippines and, more importantly, actioning our shared value of inspiring people to better their lives.”

Tony Tan Caktong, chairman of Jollibee Foods Corporation expressed the same sentiments, saying that the venture partnership and investment are “very much in line with JFC’s brand portfolio, it has excellent tasting dishes at reasonable price points. Long-term, Panda Express has a high potential for broad acceptance across the country.”

While many Filipinos expressed excitement and support for the restaurant, some also questioned the standing of JFC’s own Chinese fast-food company, Chowking,

Currently, the American-Chinese restaurant has more than 2,000 locations around the globe, notes GMA News Online. It has branches in the United States, Aruba, Canada, Dubai, El Salvador, Guam, Guatemala, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Russia, and Saudi Arabia.